Exfoliating Scrubs and Tools

My facial skin care routine has always been really basic.  Wash face.  Done.  That was it.  Now I have decided to see if I like the results of adding exfoliating into my routine.  I recently started using masks in the hope of getting a deeper cleaning that would  minimize pores.  More recently I decided to try out a few different exfoliating facial scrubs by St. Ives and also picked up the Neutrogena Microdermabrasion System.

Although I decided to give them a try I didn’t expect much from the scrubs or the Microdermabrasion tool.  I’ve only used the Apricot Scrub (with an active ingredient of 2% Salicylic Acid) a few times and have not yet seen a difference in my skin from the scrub.  But, after using the  Neutrogena Microdermabrasion System just once I did feel my skin was softer and smoother.  The box my Microdermabrasion tool came in claimed that “Dermatologist clinical study proves… 91% instantly had smoother, more luminous skin”.  I would count myself among this 91%!  I’ve only used the Microderabrasion tool twice, but so far I am happy with the results!

Other claims include:

  • 1 week 88% had visible improvement in the look of fine lines
  • 4 weeks 88% had significantly reduced appearance of wrinkles or age spots
  • 8 weeks 72% had substantially firmer looking skin

The instructions are pretty broad and say to “Massage 1 to 2 minutes per facial area”.  I’m not sure what they consider a facial area, but I divide my face into 3 zones – forehead, left side, and right side of face and like my results.
Neutrogena Microdermabrasion System (Referral link!)

Leave a Reply

